2017 Hall of Honor: Windy City Softball

Windy City Softball

Hall of Honor 2017_Windy City Softball 1.png

At the end of the 2006 softball season, the Chicago Classics Red team decided to break apart for numerous reasons. The success of that team made a few players like Roy Ambrose, Bob Kolvitz and Pat Heraty realize that a new team needed to be formed. In 2007, Windy City Softball was formed and was ready to play. The team started playing in many local senior tournaments with much success, and the team ended up the season by winning the prestigious SSUSA 50 and Over Championship in Phoenix, Arizona with a 9-1 record.

In 2008, Windy City continued its winning ways by also winning a USSSA World Championship in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. The team went a perfect 6-0 on the way to the championship. All Tournament selections for the tournament included Hall of Famers Jim Cushing, Roy Ambrose, Dennis Muth, Tom Cahill and Denis Goulding.

In 2010, Windy City had one of their most successful years. They first won the ISA 50 and Over World Championship in Nashville, Tennessee in July. In August, they entered the USSSA 50 and Over World Championship in Maumee, Ohio. Playing through some very tough competition, Windy City prevailed as champion with a 5-1 record for the weekend. Roy Ambrose was awarded the MVP of the tournament. Windy City ended the year with another world championship in Las Vegas, Nevada in September with a record of 8-1.

Hall of Honor 2017_Windy City Softball 2.png

In 2011 and 2012, Windy City had some more success. In 2011, they won the SSUSA Eastern National Championship in Raleigh, North Carolina. In 2012, they won the ISA World Championship in Columbus, Indiana.

The year 2013 brought a new sponsor, Old Style Beer, and another USSSA World Championship to the team. Playing in St. Louis in the rain, the team went a perfect 4-0 on Saturday including the winner’s bracket championship game. The rain continued all night and play was suspended for Sunday.

The core of this team included Roy Ambrose, Tom Cahill, Brian Campbell, Jim Cushing, Rex Danley, Denis Goulding, Pat Heraty, Bob Kolvitz, Mike McCall, Mike Peura, Jim Phad, Steve Misewicz and Jim Waller have made this team a great team to play for during the years. The team is still playing in the 60 and Over Division today.